Women’s Commonwealth Games selection dominated by WBBL players.

With the 2018 Commonwealth Games edging ever closer, Head Coach Chema Buceta has named his 23 strong long list of potential players and the final roster is likely to be made up exclusively of WBBL candidates.

With 9 of the WBBL’s 11 franchises having players included in the initial selection and with European based candidates not likely to participate, it is an incredible showcasing of the strength of the domestic talent available.

The choice of so many UK-based players is also a tribute to the collective agreement from the WBBL and its clubs to suspend their Championship season whilst the Commonwealth Games take place.

Following back-to-back league titles, Nottingham Wildcats’ Hannah Shaw and Siobhan Prior both make the cut, as does their latest signing Janice Monakana, now her 4-year spell with the University of Toledo has come to a close.

After selection to the Molten WBBL Team of the Year in 2016-17, Manchester Mystics’ Georgia Jones has also been included. Meanwhile despite their winless start to life in the WBBL, Durham Palatinates have a pair of players available in Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby and Nicolette Fong Lyew Quee. In contrast, Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters currently sit top of the WBBL table at 6-0 and Helen Naylor and Jennifer Ashton have both been included from the Hatters.

With over 120 international caps to her name, the experience of Cardiff’s Stef Collins is sure to be an invaluable asset if chosen. Manchester’s Dominique Allen and Team Northumbria’s Chantelle Handy join Collins as former 2012 London Olympians selected onto the long list, where there are 7 in total.

There are also spots for Christina Gaskin of BA London Lions, EuroBasket Women 2015 participant Eilidh Simpson of Cardiff Met Archers, Leicester Riders duo Mollie Campbell and Jamila Thompson, as well as Chantelle Pressley of Sevenoaks Suns.

The basketball tournament at the Commonwealth Games gets underway on 5th April 2018 with 16 teams competing across the Men’s and Women’s competitions. In total 192 players will be selected from 11 different nations and Team England’s Women begin their Commonwealth Games campaign on 6 April 2018 against Canada, before further games against Mozambique and Australia.

England 23-Player Squad

Dominique Allen (Manchester Mystics)

Jennifer Ashton (Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters)

Mollie Campbell (Leicester Riders)

Stefanie Collins (Cardiff Met Archers)

Melita Emanuel-Carr (CABC Basket – FRA)

Temi Fagbenle (CCC Polkowice – POL)

Christina Gaskin (BA London Lions)

Chantelle Handy (Team Northumbria)

Georgia Jones (Manchester Mystics)

Shequila Joseph (Fassi Albino – ITA)

Johannah Leedham-Warner (ESBVA-FRA)

Janice Monakana (Nottingham Wildcats)

Helen Naylor (Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters_

Harriet Ottewill-Soulsby (Durham Palatinates)

Chantelle Pressley (Sevenoaks Suns)

Siobhan Prior (Nottingham Wildcats)

Nicolette Fong Lyew Quee (Durham Palatinates)

Hannah Shaw (Nottingham Wildcats)

Eilidh Simpson (Cardiff Met Archers)

Azania Stewart (TTT Riga – LAT)

Hannah Sunley-Paisley (St Paul Reze – FRA)

Jamila Thompson (Leicester Riders)

Rachael Vanderwal (Ferrol- ESP)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *