Molten WBBL All-Defensive Team Of The Year 2016-17.

The Molten WBBL All-Defensive team for the 2016-17 season has been announced, with Wildcats’ shooting guard Siobhan Prior, just missing out despite heading the league in steals.  Prior was first of the bench.

The WBBL clubs/coaches have cast their votes for the WBBL All-Defensive Team of the Year for 2016-17 and it is as follows:

Nicolette Fong Lyew Quee (Team Northumbria)

The livewire guard has taken her game to new levels in recent seasons and not only at the offensive end of the floor. Her quickness and basketball IQ have made her a real power defensively for Team Northumbria as she leads her team in steals.

Rheanne Bailey (Manchester Mystics)

Showing leadership all over the court, Bailey is a colossus for Mystics and has been setting the tone defensively in an impressive season since they moved to their new home last summer, with a WBBL Cup to show for their efforts so far.

Steph Gandy (Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters)

The veteran knows how to get the job done for her team. Her ability to guard multiple positions remains most impressive to those opposing coaches trying to find a way to break down Hatters and evade the attentions of Gandy.

Brittany Winborne (Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters)

She may not be the biggest in the paint, but the physical presence of Winborne and some spectacular work on the glass as the league’s leading rebounder, has meant the WBBL rookie has been one of the few constants in a challenging campaign for Hatters.

Tricia Oakes (Caledonia Pride)

Check out any action from WBBL newcomers Caledonia Pride and you can expect to see Oakes stuffing the highlights reel with blocked shots as she is the league’s top swatter. She has also been a real leader on the boards for her team as well.

Off the Bench – Siobhan Prior (Nottingham Wildcats), Georgia Jones (Manchester Mystics), Dom Allen (Manchester Mystics), Jamila Thompson (Leicester Riders), Melisa Mendes (Nottingham Wildcats), Deanne Hayward (Leicester Riders), Stef Collins (Cardiff Met Archers).

Courtesy of the WBBL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *