Molten WBBL All-British Team of the Year 2016-17.

The next award in our series of accolades is the Molten WBBL All-British Team of the Year, with the clubs/coaches voting as follows:

Georgia Jones (Manchester Mystics)

The Great Britain guard has been the centrepiece of the best ever WBBL season for Mystics, guiding them to the WBBL Cup and averaging 18.8 points per game in the WBBL Championship. She also led the league in assists with 6.8 per game.

Siobhan Prior (Nottingham Wildcats)

It’s been another highly productive season for the experienced guard as she led her team to back-to-back WBBL league titles. She set the tone as usual and finished the WBBL Championship campaign with more steals than anybody else in the league with 2.8 per game.

Steph Gandy (Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters)

Having already featured in the Molten WBBL All-Defensive Team of the Year, the ‘golden oldie’ is back yet again as she shows her class. She poured in 19 points per game during the Regular Season and did so with the fourth best field goal shooting in the league.

Savannah Wilkinson (Barking Abbey Crusaders)

It has been another highly impressive campaign for the Great Britain rising star who averaged 15.4 points per game as the leading scorer for Crusaders. She also added 7.6 rebounds per game and is now headed to the States to tip-off her NCAA career.

Dominique Allen (Manchester Mystics)

The Great Britain centre has had an excellent first season back in her homeland with Mystics. Having taken MVP honours at the WBBL Cup Final, she finished with a near double-double of more than nine points and nine rebounds per game in the league.

Off the Bench – Deanne Hayward (Leicester Riders), Gabby Nikitinaite (Sevenoaks Suns), Helen Naylor (Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters), Erin McGarrachan (Leicester Riders), Stef Collins (Cardiff Met Archers), Renee Busch (Sevenoaks Suns), Robyn Lewis (Caledonia Pride).

Courtesy of the WBBL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *